2019 Bursary Guidelines and Application


Open to Canadian citizens or landed immigrants who have spina bifida and/or hydrocephalus and must be a registered member in good standing of SBHAC.  Membership must be in good standing for a minimum of one year prior to applying.  Membership may be through a provincial association that is a member of SBHAC or the applicant may be a member directly to SBHAC.  The applicant is to verify with their provincial association to confirm their membership with SBHAC.

The following associations are presently members of SBHAC – British Columbia, Northern Alberta; Southern Alberta; South Saskatchewan; Saskatchewan North; Manitoba; Nova Scotia; and Prince Edward Island.

Students are eligible to receive an award one time only


All requests for applications and correspondence regarding the SBHAC National Bursary Program should be directed to

National Bursary Program
c/o Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Canada
472 – 167 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, Manitoba   R3B 0T6



Program Objectives

To encourage and support students with spina bifida and/or hydrocephalus to achieve independence in future education.
To assist students in pursuing higher education at university or other post secondary studies.

If you would like more information concerning the National Bursary Program, please call 1-800-565-9488 or email bursary@sbhac.ca


Below are the guidelines to read and application to  fill out and return:

Bursary Program Guidelines (DOCX)     


Bursary Program Application  (DOCX)     


Please note only completed applications will be accepted. Late applications will not be accepted.

Person writing on paper

Reminder – National Bursary Program – Deadline May 15, 2019

Reminder:  Deadline date for Bursary applications is May 15, 2019 at 5:00 pm DST. Review the guidelines and download the application.… Read More


Bursary Awards

The current and past winners of the Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of Canada bursary are: Emma S. from Calgary, Alberta Paige G. from Kamloops, British Columbia. Morgan C. from Edmonton, Alberta. Matthew V. from Sherwood Park, Alberta. Hannah R. from Prince Rupert, British Columbia. Bradley R. from Dartmouth, Nova Scotia. Katie W. from Surrey,… Read More