Review the guidelines and download the application.

2021 Bursary Guidelines and Application

The deadline date is May 19, 2021.


Open to Canadian citizens or permanent residents who have spina
bifida and/or hydrocephalus and must be a registered member in
good standing of SBHAC. Membership must be in good standing
for a minimum of one year prior to applying. Membership may be
through a provincial association that is a member of SBHAC or the

applicant may be a member directly to SBHAC. The applicant is to
verify with their provincial association to confirm their
membership with SBHAC.

The following associations are presently members of SBHAC: British Columbia, Northern Alberta, Southern Alberta, South Saskatchewan, Saskatchewan North, Manitoba, and Nova Scotia.

Students are eligible to receive an award one time only


All requests for applications and correspondence regarding the SBHAC Bursary Program should be directed to:

National Bursary Program
c/o Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Canada
472 – 167 Lombard Ave.
Winnipeg, Manitoba   R3B 0T6

Toll free phone: 1-800-565-9488
Fax: 1-204-925-3654

Program Objectives

To encourage and support students with spina bifida and/or
hydrocephalus by assisting them in pursuing higher education at
university or other post-secondary studies.

If you would like more information concerning the National Bursary Program, please call 1-800-565-9488 or email

Below are the guidelines to read and application to  fill out and return:

Bursary Program Guidelines (PDF)      Bursary Program Application  (PDF)     

Please note only completed applications will be accepted. Late applications will not be accepted.

Person writing on paper

National Bursary Program – Deadline May 19, 2021

Review the guidelines and download the application.… Read More

Bursary Awards

The current and past winners of the Spina Bifida and Hydrocephalus Association of Canada bursary are: Fred B. from Mackenzie, British Columbia Jacob Y. from Qualicum Beach, British Columbia Anne N. from Beaverlodge, Alberta Rahul S. from Vancouver, British Columbia Adegbuyi A. from Edmonton, Alberta Emma S. from Calgary, Alberta Paige G. from Kamloops, British… Read More